Michelle Peeters

Lightroom update for GPU acceleration

Friday 16 August 2019, 16:08 by | 5,064 views | 0 comments

This article was translated from Dutch with the help of AI. Read the original.

Lightroom Classic and Adobe Camera Raw users can now use GPU acceleration during photo editing thanks to Adobe's latest update. This should significantly improve performance in desktop apps.

How GPU acceleration works


Earlier article


Exactly a year ago, we published an article about GPU acceleration in Lightroom. At the time, the Develop module was the only one that could use GPU acceleration.

Commands and processes unrelated to the Develop module were therefore unaffected. You needed a fast hard drive and a high-resolution monitor with more than the standard 2K resolution to notice any effect. Now, it seems that quite a few things have improved.


More powerful GPUs


After installing the update, you can use more powerful GPUs during photo editing. You should get a smoother and more responsive experience, according to Adobe.

You'll notice the difference mainly when using powerful GPUs and monitors with relatively high resolutions, such as a 4K monitor. If you have a 1080p screen or an integrated GPU, you probably won't notice any major differences.

You can now also export photos as PNG files. Previously, you could only open and import them. The update should mainly improve speed in the Library module of Lightroom Classic. Users can also assign colour labels to collections.

Merging images in batches


In Lightroom Classic, you could already merge several images into HDR photos, panoramas or HDR panoramas, but you can now also do this with groups of HDR or panorama photos. You no longer have to merge them one by one. You can now merge them directly as a batch of grouped images.

Recovering deleted photos


You will soon also be able to restore previously deleted photos. All Lightroom apps have a folder for this, allowing you to recover photos for up to sixty days after they have been deleted.

If you have a free account, you can only do this on the device on which you deleted the photos. As a Creative Cloud member or with a Premium subscription, you can recover deleted photos from any device connected to your account.

Share: WhatsApp Facebook
Michelle Peeters

About the author

Michelle Peeters is fotografe en oprichter van DeuxBleus Fotografie. Michelle herkent het bijzondere in het gewone en het gewone in het bijzondere. Ze heeft zich nooit willen specialiseren en is daardoor van alle markten thuis.

Show every article in Lightroom tips

0 comments

    There are no comments on this article yet.
    Be the first to share what you think!

Have your say

Please note: Articles older than a week can only be commented on by signed-in visitors.
Would you still like to comment? sign in or create a free account.

Become a better photographer every week

A practical photography tip in your inbox every week.
38,982 photography enthusiasts already receive the tips! More about the weekly mail. Or keep up to date via Facebook. Sign-up secured with Google reCaptcha.

Elja Trum

Elja Trum

Photofacts; everything to do with photography!

Would you like to take better photos and keep up with what is happening in photography? Photofacts publishes articles that teach you something about photography — from a product announcement to a practical shooting tip or a look at a website. Photofacts covers photography every day and is a hobby project of Elja Trum's that got out of hand. The articles are written by a team of volunteer authors. If you would enjoy writing one or more articles for Photofacts, do get in touch.More about Photofacts

Photofacts is made possible in part by


We use cookies to make Photofacts work properly. Read our cookie policy. got it